Evan’s Poem

This is a poem a wrote a few years ago for Evan on Mother’s Day.  Tonight, I think of him and smile although often I cry. But not tonight.
For those who don’t know, Evan was the name chosen for one of the babies we lost in 2006, just two days after hearing a heartbeat.  Our youngest son’s name Nevan is of course, in tribute to our lost baby.

Mother’s Day isn’t so easy for my Mom and me,

From where I’m at, it’s sometimes hard for her to see.

She does her best to smile,

But keeping her composure can sometimes be a trial.

Mother’s Day isn’t so easy for my Mom and me.

There are no cards or pictures I can draw for her,

No real memories to keep,

At night I can hear her weep.

Mother’s Day isn’t so easy for my Mom and me,

I know she’s always thinking of what could be.

I hold her hand while she’s asleep,

In with the moonlight I do creep.

Mother’s Day isn’t so easy for my Mom and me,

I wish I could tell her that this was all meant to be.

One day I’ll get to see her,

But right now that day is just a glimmer.

Mother’s Day isn’t so easy for my Mom and me,

But each day I watch her and send her peace.

No, it’s not always so easy for my Mom and me,

But she knows in Heaven, her baby I’ll always be.

One thought on “Evan’s Poem

Leave a Comment

