Overalls, Stripes, and Tigers Oh My!

I spent this past weekend working on my sons’ Easter outfits.  My oldest got to pick out the fabric last weekend and I finally got to break out my Fishsticks Designs overalls pattern.  I love overalls on my boys, but I don’t like the price tag normally associated with them.  So, what do you do when you want something you can’t afford?  You learn to do it yourself of course!

DSCN0637I rarely pay for a pattern so when I do, it’s because I REALLY want something.  And this pattern is worth the money.  It comes with sizes NB-4T,but there is no 9-12 month pattern.  I’ve noticed that this a size commonly not found even in retail stores.  My youngest just happens to be this size, but the 12 month pattern fit him fine.  It is a bit long, but I left it that way because he may hit a growth spurt before Easter.  If they’re still too long come March I can always hem them or just fold up the bottom so he can get more wear out of them.

I’ve never made overalls or shortalls  so I was a little intimidated at first, but DSCN0638the instructions are very well written and easy to follow.  I’m not going to lie and say I finished two pairs of overalls in a day because I didn’t. I spent an afternoon cutting out two pair and a shorter afternoon sewing one pair.  I still have one pair to finish.  I’m sure I’ll be quicker once I’ve done it a few times.  I love that I can make them out of ‘play’ prints or more dressy prints.  I’m going to have a lot of fun with these :)

3 thoughts on “Overalls, Stripes, and Tigers Oh My!

  1. Pingback: What’s In Store « BrennysBibbies

Leave a Comment

