When Life Gives You Lemons…

Back in late January I posted about my husband losing his job.  He was unemployed for about a month a half and started his new job yesterday. So I wanted to do a little update.

I still remember being absolutely scared to death when I got that phone call about his job.  Our first priority was as it has always been to make sure our kids were sheltered and fed.  Happily we were able to make sure that was done.  For now, we do get to keep our house.  We are taking a pay cut from what we were used to, but he appears to have found a stable, expanding company who cares about their employees.  So I know he will do well.

There has been a lot of stress in my household these last couple of months.  We weren’t always perfectly civil to each other, but we have learned lessons that will benefit us.  We have learned that money isn’t the be all and end all in this world.  We’ve never had much of it, but we know we can make do with what we are given.  Love and family are more important to us than ‘things’.2-6-13 (12)  We have two very healthy, happy little boys who like to giggle and play.  They make us laugh and they teach us to slow down and enjoy this time.  We also have family and friends who have been wonderfully supportive and encouraging to us.  The two lessons I needed to be taught – you can’t control everything and don’t take anything for granted – were the hardest.

It is a rather powerless feeling to not know if you are going to keep your home or for how long.  Especially when you are a control freak like me.  I am one of those people who organizes everything. My kids closets are done by clothing type AND color…So, when I lose control over something BIG, I definitely panic.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy husband is the polar opposite.  I’ve only ever seen him truly mad maybe a handful of times in the eight years I’ve known him.  These differences are the glue that holds our family together.  I have a do it right now and get things done mentality while he calms me and encourages patience when it needs to be applied.  It is a balance that works well for us.

12-22-12 (2)My children enjoyed their almost two month-long vacation with daddy.  They played super heroes and cars, they wrestled, threw balls, built mega block cities and watched those ‘fun’ cartoons mommy doesn’t allow too often.  It was good for them both.  Truth be told, I was also much overdue for a break from being ‘mom’ 24/7 for the last 2+ years.  So I busied my hands with sewing, crocheting, and decluttering our house.  Believe it or not, those are things I much enjoy.  I don’t do the whole manicure, girl’s night out thing. It’s not me. But sewing and creating while listening to music, well that is medicine for my soul.

So, we have pulled through and while not all the pieces are back together, we are stronger and closer than before.  I do believe this is going to be a good year after all.  Thirteen is my lucky number and we’re going to make it a lucky year.

One thought on “When Life Gives You Lemons…

Leave a Comment

