Premonitions

Do any of you believe in premonitions?  I do, very strongly.

Most people probably think I’m crazy when I start talking about dreams and how very often mine end up happening.  Or how I freak out to the ‘nth degree when I get one of those ‘feelings’.  Nine times out of ten, those ‘feelings’ DO have a forewarning behind them.

I admittedly don’t like to believe I have much in common with the man that happens to be my father. I haven’t spoken to him in over a year and he hasn’t even met my youngest son.  Our relationship has never been a good one although we lived in the same house for the first fifteen years of my life.  But that is another post.  Aside from the fact that I look very much like him, he also believed in dreams having meanings.  I probably would’ve dismissed this as another one of his drunken beliefs until I realized that very often I would dream about things only to have them happen in some form in my life.  So we do have that.

1 Day Old (7)

A few weeks before my oldest son was born, I had a dream about his birth and him in general.  Black hair, striking blue eyes.  That part, I easily could’ve just guessed as his father and I both have dark hair and bright blue eyes.  However, in the dream we were out shopping and everyone kept commenting that he was beautiful enough to have been a girl.  Brenny BooIf I had a nickel for every time someone has said this to me, or every time someone has continued to say “she” even two years later, he would have quite the little college fund started. His hair has now turned blond, but still, he is my beautifully handsome boy who likes having long hair.

7-24-12 (6)My ‘visions’ about my second son were a bit different.  I knew that he had been conceived from the moment it happened.  I know, I know, it sounds absolutely crazy.  If someone else had said that to me, I would’ve wondered about their sanity.  And my husband told me I was crazy when I told him.

4-14-13 (4)

But, a couple of weeks later when I was holding a positive pregnancy test (that I knew would be before I even bought it) I think he was stunned into silence much like myself.  I didn’t know if this new little life would be a boy or girl, but I ‘felt’ their presence as soon as they entered my life. And this enigmatic little baby has been a gift of pure bliss to our family.  He is always so happy and everyone comments on it all the time.  I can’t wait to see all that he does with this life. His outlook so far is just so optimistic.

I don’t really know WHY my husband was so surprised about my seeming to know about Mr. Nevan as soon as his life began.  We have had far more pregnancies than the two children we have.  Sadly they were all lost to miscarriage in various stages of pregnancy.  I had the same feeling when one of those lost babies was conceived as well.  We got to hear that precious little one’s heartbeat at almost 13 weeks pregnant, and I lost him two days later.  Little man Nevan is named after that baby – Evan.  So perhaps, these two little guys have a connection.  I like to think so.

Last night I had a very vivid dream about giving birth to a third baby – another little boy.  I saw his face quiet clearly – reminiscent of my other two children, but different in his own way.  He had very little hair unlike my other two did at birth.  But was as big, chubby and as healthy.  Like my other two – he was born after a twelve plus hour labor.  Unlike the other two, he was born in a car on the way to the hospital.  The dream was too vivid, too real!  Every part of the birth left me waking up almost in pain wondering what in the world was going on.  I am NOT pregnant and we do not currently have three little boys – we just have two.  So we will see what happens.  I’d like a longer break before my next baby so this may be just a dream after all.

These ‘feelings’ and dreams seem to stretch into all aspects of my life.  I had a horrible dream about a family member losing their mind and trying to kill us.  Luckily, that didn’t come true.  But, that same day, they lost their job.  I had a feeling for weeks before my husband was laid off in January that it was going to happen.  Of course, I don’t equate that as much to a premonition but just paying attention to what was going on.  It had already happened to a lot of people where he worked, so it was probably just being prudent to expect it.  Either way, both my husband and the family member have better jobs now and are happy. That’s what’s important.

I am certainly NOT saying that I can see the future anymore than anyone else can.  I just think it’s important to pay attention to your own intuitions, dreams, and all the clues life freely hands us.  I think we would be surprised at how much we can learn by listening to ourselves.

2 thoughts on “Premonitions

  1. Awesome post Ashley! I hope things work out with your dad… You have beautiful children and I bet the next child will be just as beautiful and happy! I don’t pay attention to my dreams, but now maybe I will… even the bad ones. Who knows what they really mean. Great insight.

    Have a great day.

    Like

Leave a Comment

