Just a Blink

My second son’s first birthday approaches quickly….I’m filled with excitement for him, and almost sadness for myself as I bid farewell to babyhood once more.  Yes, I am quite glad that I can sleep through the night again and that he is even learning to feed himself.

We’ve said goodbye to bottles…
He dons 18 month clothes…
He has been walking for a few months….
Today he is building forts….
Today, I am longing for that little squishy baby who now toddles past me giggling as he takes off with his brother’s blanket.

With reserve, and a swelling lump in my throat, I encourage his exploration.  I prepare myself for no longer being the mom to an infant, but instead a bright, ever happy toddler.  And I push that baby fever that will surely approach as far back as I can.  For I want to enjoy my two toddlers while I can, one will soon be a preschooler after all.

I miss this, but am in awe of what he has become.

I miss this, but am in awe of what he has become.

Leave a Comment

