The Days Are Long, But The Years Are Short

“The days are long, but the years are short.”

I don’t know who originally said that, but, those words ring true to the mom in me.  When you first have your baby, people tell you all the time to cherish them because they grow so quickly.  You smile and nod.  But you don’t get it at first. And then a few months, a few years, a few kids later….it hits.  You look at that energetic little boy, and he is not your baby anymore.

If you’re the sentimental, emotional mom that I am, you’ll tear up.  You’ll pull out all his photos, his baby clothes, and be ever grateful that he is still sleeping with his ‘blankie’…for now.

I am very thankful for two healthy little boys.  I am amazed by all they have already accomplished, but sometimes I just want them to slow down.  My oldest is almost three and tells me to “Hush”.  He tells me about the neighbor’s dog and asks me why everything in the universe is the way it is.  He runs about the house squealing, playing.  He brings me books to read and ‘reads’ to himself.  And my one year old toddles right behind. Anxious and eager to follow in big brother’s foot steps.

Holidays go by way too fast now.  Christmas cookies, holiday crafts, they’re over in a blink. If I’m lucky, I got pictures. If I’m not, my little boy has for sure made me some memento to cherish.  Birthdays feel like they happen in quick procession, one after another. I tear up every time someone sings them happy birthday.  I’m remembering that baby kicking in my belly. I’m remembering the first time I held those precious, precious babies…

Watching them grow is so bittersweet. Yes, I want them to spread their wings, make their marks on this world. But I want to hold them and protect them for always too. The first day of school will undoubtedly be a very, very hard day for this mom. And I cannot fathom putting those boys in a car and sending them off to college…

So I will heed those warnings to cherish them while I still have them.  I’ll do my best to make sure they grow to be good men. Ones who call their mom every day and visit often….Men who do good and cherish their own families one day as much as I am cherishing my time with them.

One thought on “The Days Are Long, But The Years Are Short

Leave a Comment

