School of Cloth: Week 2 Investing in Cloth Diapers

week2Link up to this week’s school of cloth here.

I did a post a few weeks ago about cloth diapering on a budget.  You can find that post here.  There is information on how to cloth diaper with no money, cloth diapering with a conservative budget, and cloth diaper banks for those in need.

I started our cloth diaper journey with less than $30.  I went through our closets and found old t-shirts, receiving blankets, sheets, and fleece items we were no longer using.  I combed thrift stores for fleece, flannel, terry towels.  And I purchased inexpensive wash cloths, elastic, hook and loop, and flannel to make our own diapers.

You can make your own cloth wipes with very basic sewing skills. It is actually a great project for beginning sewers.  I’ve talked about resources for learning to make cloth diapers here and here. Or you can browse the cloth diaper section of the blog for more information on cloth diaper making and the use of cloth diapers.

As our finances have allowed, I have purchased more materials to make diapers and even diapers that were manufactured by someone other than myself.  Our diaper stash started with about 12-15 diapers and has since grown to probably 70 or so diapers, several diaper covers, and countless inserts.

 I recently discovered the flats and flip diapering system.  I wanted something that worked well for when we travel and these are definitely a winner!  I purchased fifteen flats, five flips covers, and a wetbag for $60.  This is more than enough to diaper my TWO boys for a day away from home, and that includes doubling up on flats at night. I do add a doubler because I have a one and two-year old who pee a bit more than a baby does.

I think the easiest way to start cloth diapering if you have limited funds and need to buy diapers instead of making them is to start small.  Buy just a little at a time so that you are gradually buying less and less disposable diapers.

I have never had to diaper two kids in disposables. We started cloth diapering before my youngest was born.  But, I was spending $45 a month on disposable diapers and wipes for one baby.  And that was with a $40 a year Sam’s Club membership to buy their brand in bulk. Including the membership, that works out to approximately $580 a year for ONE child. I would imagine that would have been at least double for two, so approximately $1120 a year. Yikes!

Even after indulging my diaper sewing addiction (and building our diaper stash to a number that makes cloth diapering two comfortable), I haven’t spent anywhere close to even $500. We even have cloth training pants.  My diapers are still in good condition, some of them still look brand new.  So if baby #3 comes along, they will be using the same diapers and saving us even more money per year.

Another bonus is that we rarely have diaper rashes with cloth diapers.  I used to buy tub after tub of desitin.  And then there was the antifungal for the occasional yeast rash. We haven’t had a yeast rash since starting cloth diapers.  I use CJ’s BUTTer as a diaper rash cream and preventative now which cost me about $15 for 3-4 months of cream for two kiddos. I probably use it 1-2 times a day on each child. I also use it on my son’s eczema. So it really goes a long way and works great for us. It also smells fantastic which is just nice for me.

So, do you really safe  money using cloth? YES!  Our utility expenses did not increase drastically either as cloth has only added 2-3 extra loads of laundry per week.  Give it a try, see how much you save.

One thought on “School of Cloth: Week 2 Investing in Cloth Diapers

  1. Pingback: Cloth Diapering Tips and Tricks | Mabe, With Love

Leave a Comment

