Personal Accountability

I sat down at my kitchen table this morning with a pad of paper,  pencil, calendar, and calculator.  When I pull out my pad of paper – you know I mean business.  Word and excel are excellent tools, but when I need to make myself stick to a plan – that handwritten record placed on the front of my fridge is what I need.

I knew this year was going to be a big year.  We were going to change our lives in a big way.  My heart felt it, my prayers and my faith had led me to a crossroads.  I am being pulled by a force I don’t know to a calling I can’t name.  I am anxious, I am willing.  I am relinquishing control and praying for guidance.

PersonalAccountabilityChanging your life is a goal with many facets.  I’ve broken down different areas of our lives to focus on individually.  One of the hardest parts of any challenge for a single income family is finances.

I hate money.  I often feel like many of our problems could be solved if we had more of it.  There may be a truth to that, but I probably won’t get the chance to find out.  I beat myself up often due to my lack of financial contribution to our family.  I contribute in other ways.  I remind myself that raising our children is as important as contributing financially.  I am building them up to go out into the world and guiding them to make the right choices.

When you want to make a change, you control it.  We may not have complete control over the amount of money we make, but we can control where it is spent and do our best to save for a future that is financially different from the life we now lead.

I’m still young and naïve enough to believe I can change the world…even if it’s only from inside my own little family.  I see enough good out there to believe that things get better with hard work and dedication.  You can move forward and realize that it’s not too late to reach your goals.  If something is worth achieving, it isn’t easy.  There isn’t a fast track or someone there to do it for you.

PersonalAccountability2So, exactly what are some of the things on this big ‘to-do’ list?  What steps does one take to change their life?  For me, it’s part blind faith, part minimalist.  A goal to do more with less.  To reach a point of stability and stop being afraid of what’s around the corner.  A realization that the monetary and materialistic things we ‘need’ aren’t necessary for our happiness.

If I write these goals down, if I share them, I’m holding myself accountable.  I’m enacting small changes in hopes they reach a greater goal.  I’m changing…I’m trying my hardest to make things different.  Even if it’s only a little a time, I’m building a stepping stone to the life I want to have.

Life is ever evolving and I don’t want to be stuck on the sidelines as the years pass by without me.  The time to act on your goals and dreams isn’t tomorrow…it’s now.

3 thoughts on “Personal Accountability

  1. Ashley, have you ever read the book “Simple Abundance” by Sarah Ban Breathnach? My sister gave me a copy years ago. I think you would enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

