Light In Our Lives – Music

ArtMusic drives me.  It’s played in the background of every major event in my life and a single song can transport me to another time and place entirely.  I have a strong passion for it.  I’m not ashamed to say I can be caught crying over a song that comes on the radio.  Sometimes a song I’ve never heard before will stop me dead in my tracks.  It pulls me in and all I can do is sit and listen.  Little else has that power over me.

I’ve mentioned before that my husband and I fell in love over music.  It sounds like an exaggeration, but it isn’t.  I remember when he handed me Avenged Sevenfold’s “City of Evil”.  We weren’t dating, weren’t really close friends yet, but we had music in common in a big way.  And then he gave me that album and our friendship blossomed.  “Seize the Day” is one of the songs I refer to as our song.  I have seen the band in concert several times and don’t think I will ever grow tired of them.  I love their talent and the role they’ve played in our lives just by doing what they love.

Have you heard of Cold (the band)?  Ah, well, if you haven’t, you’re missing out.  The lyrics, the music – they are amazing.  I snuck away for an afternoon trip with my now husband to get their “A Different Kind of Pain” album when it came out.  We were both in a weird place relationship wise.  We were friends, but there was a lot of emotion floating around that we were trying to ignore.

We listened to the album on the hour ride back to part our separate ways and a flood gate of emotion was released.  I’m fairly certain a forbidden first kiss took place.  There was so much emotion, it’s hard to separate what I was feeling from what was going on.

When I can relate to an artist’s form of writing I feel connected.  When I can taste the raw emotion in the lyrics, it’s magical to me.  This album and the song that is its namesake could quite possibly be what pushed my husband and I together.  It spoke volumes to me and I still listen to it often.

My first fore into writing came in the form of music before I knew how to spell.  I’d make up songs and sing away.  I put words to rhythm through poetry very early on.  And I have a huge collection of lyrics I’ve written over the years.  Maybe even some recordings of me trying to articulate those lyrics into songs.

To feel is human.  To set your emotions into life – that’s art.  It takes talent and determination to make words leap of the page and dance off the tongue.  Music is beauty, love, and light.  It adds color to our lives.  It helps us celebrate and grieve.  It’s played at weddings, funerals, and the background of our everyday lives.  If we can’t say it, we can often find it in a song.

Music is emotion.  And while our tastes all vary, most of us can find at least one artist that we relate to.  Personally, I don’t think I could live in a world without music.  So, for all the artist out there – some successful and some trying to break through – keep doing what you do.  The world needs you and I thank you.

One thought on “Light In Our Lives – Music

  1. Pingback: Drink For The Soul: Gregory Alan Isakov | Mabe, With Love

Leave a Comment

