Freezing Lemon Zest

In the spring and summer, many a glass of lemonade is poured in my kitchen.  I’m one of those people who will try to use every bit of something if I can so I zest my lemons (and limes, one or two limes is the key to good lemonade) before I squeeze out all the juicy goodness.  The zest can be used later in cakes, pies, cookies, with chicken, and lots of other recipes.  Just use a grater to get all that fragrant zest, pop the zest in a mini-food processor to chop it up fine, and put the zest into ice-cube trays.  Each cube will equal about 1-2 tablespoons.  Add just a bit of juice to the zest to help the zest freeze into nice little blocks that you can store in a freezer bag.

Leave a Comment

