Making a Rag Rug

Rag Rug TutThe last month I’ve been working on what I hope will end up being a six-foot long rag rug.  I work on it a few hours a week and then I let it sit at the sewing desk.  The rug is finally big enough at 40.5″X37.5″ that I can place it in our living room floor to be used between sewing sessions.  Getting it this big has required me to wrap 650 feet of clothes line cord and I’m guessing there will be well over 1200 feet wrapped before it is done.  The rug is made entirely of fabric scraps and I have to say it has been a lot of fun to work on.  As I use the scraps I often remember what project they came from.  It feels like there are little pieces of special occasions all in the rug so I’ve started calling it the memory mat.  First birthday outfits, holiday pajamas, gifts for those we love…  There are little pieces of so many people in this project.  It’s definitely turned out to be more special than any rug we could have purchased.  And certainly much more than just a ‘rag rug’.  It’s a bit of art and a lot of sentiment.

These rugs are easy to make and very versatile.  All you need is clothes line cord (I use the cotton blend variety), fabric scraps cut into strips, pins, scissors, and a sewing machine. You could even sew the project by hand.  You can do any size or shape your heart desires, only limited by creativity.

The strips of fabric you use in this project can really be almost any length and width you feel comfortable working with.  I normally don’t make them wider than 1″ or smaller than 0.25″, but you could.  I have used a few strips that were smaller than 0.25″ and they work beautifully, they just take more wrapping.

To join two bundles of cord together  lay about 1″ of the two uncovered ends side by side and zig-zag them together before wrapping. If you finish it off and go back, just cover a new end of cord and zig zag it onto the rug picking up where you left off. 

Below you will find a photo gallery tutorial.  The first photo in the tutorial is the same as the photo above.  You can pause the tutorial or go back to another step at any time.

Have fun with it, I’d love to see your’s.  Share it with us via email or social media and we’d be happy to post it on the blog!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Comment

