Handmade Spotlight: Chumaka Designs

I’ve had the lucky fortune of meeting many talented artists through Etsy and groups I’ve joined there.  I love chatting with all these people and have gotten to know many of them as friends.  From fabric and other fibers, clay, paint, beads, and a number of other mediums I am amazed at how each person can create something unique and personal from seemingly ordinary objects.  I like that all these people from different corners of the world have one common goal – to make the world a more beautiful place.

One of these individuals is the lovely Ms. Dora from Chumaka Designs.  Dora creates beautiful one-of-a-kind pieces of jewelry and art.  She is also a crunchy mama who loves vintage items – two things we have in common.  I met Dora through an Etsy group and have gotten to know her over the last couple of years via Facebook.  I’m a big fan of her art and jewelry.  I like when an artist has a style all their own.  When I can see a piece and almost instantly know who made it, it makes me happy.

Last week I received a package from Dora with two pairs of earrings inside.  These earrings are gorgeous and the little button earrings are sooo comfortable to wear.  Before I had kids I had a few body piercings and gauged ears…shocking, right?  The holes in my ears are back to little ‘normal’ size holes now but sometimes heavy earrings tend to stretch my lobes making them uncomfortable.  The little button earrings do none of that.  They are so light and comfortable I forget I’m wearing them.  Not to mention, they are super cute.

While the blue earrings are heavier, I didn’t have any problem wearing them for a few hours to go out.  I’m sure if you haven’t done crazy things like stretch your ear lobes, you probably don’t have sensitive ears like me either way.  The detail on the blue pair really makes them pop.  They have two tiny flower shaped findings on the top and bottom of the blue bead and I love that extra little touch.  It makes them seem more special, feminine, and delicate.

I can’t talk about Chumaka Designs without mentioning Dora’s art.  She has beautiful abstract pieces as well as humor art.  And if you ask nicely, I’m sure she’d create a custom piece just for you.  Two of my favorite pieces are the two little guys above.  They just make me smile.  I think they would look perfect over a diaper pail, changing table, or as bathroom art.  The cloth diaper mom in me who is so used to dealing with poop (and sometimes so fed up with it) NEEDS this kind of humor in my life!  You can’t look at these and not laugh.

Of course, if poop art isn’t your style, Dora’s other work is truly beautiful.  If you do like humor in your life, be sure to checkout Dora’s other shop Warhole Designs for tongue in cheek apparel.

Links to Shop

Etsy:  https://www.etsy.com/shop/ChumakaDesigns
https://www.etsy.com/shop/WarholeDesigns

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/DoraSmykaArt
https://www.facebook.com/designswarhole

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/SassyChumaka
https://twitter.com/warholedesigns

 

*Disclosure:  The earrings mentioned and pictured in this blog were provided to me free of charge.  The blog was my own unsolicited idea and my honest opinion of the products and shops.  You can read our full disclosure policy here.*

3 thoughts on “Handmade Spotlight: Chumaka Designs

Leave a Comment

