Handmade Spotlight: Blue Ridge Bread Company

Cookie Monster Approved

Cookie Monster Approved

I had the pleasure of attending the Yadkin Valley Pumpkin Festival this weekend and my family and I had a lot of fun.  We discovered lovely handmade crafts, delicious treats, and downtown stores that I’m sure we’ll be frequenting more often.

As a lover of handmade items and delicious, decadent foods fair season aka fall, is my most favorite season of all.  I love getting outdoors in the crisp air and seeing what others have done with their own two hands.  It is inspiring and such a nice break from the everyday bombardment of technology.  To see my children out experiencing and enjoying the world refreshes my soul.

One of our last stops at the Pumpkin Festival this year was the Blue Ridge Bread Company.  If you follow the blog, or know me, you know my love of fresh made breads and treats that aren’t filled with all that yucky stuff most commercial products are.  I love a good candy bar as much as the next person, but sometimes, you want something that goes above the typical treat.  Blue Ridge Bread Company offers handcrafted old world artisan baked goods.  They use King Arthur unbleached and unbromated flour – which is definitely a good thing in my book.  The less ‘unnatural’ products that go into my food the better. Wanting to enjoy a treat does not mean I don’t want natural ingredients that aren’t polluting my body.  Any company that stands behind this philosophy gets a big vote yes in my book.

All natural ingredients you can pronounce.

All natural ingredients you can pronounce.

All the ingredients for each item I purchased were clearly labeled on each package and I could PRONOUNCE ALL OF THEM!  No high-fructose corn syrup, no crazy ingredients with names that sound like a science experiment.  I’m not going to lie and tell you that sugar is healthy, but when you’re going to consume it, at least do it in a normal, natural form.  We all need a little treat here and there.  These treats are much tastier than any store-bought cookie or bread and my pumpkin tartlet had real cream, which you won’t find in most commercial products.  The pecan bar was deliciously decadent and my son had to have the Everything But The Kitchen Sink cookie.  He gave it two cookie covered thumbs up.  And then he licked those morsels off his thumbs because they were too good to waste.

If you’re a bread lover, you really have to try these breads.  I tried the Harvest Focaccia.  While I was skeptical of the grapes on top of the bread, I have to say it was delicious and everything a handcrafted bread should be.

Harvest Focaccia

Harvest Focaccia

You can find Blue Ridge Bread Company products at these stores:  Yadkin Valley General Store, Main St. Market, Foothills Meat Center and Country Ham Outlet, Generations Restaurant, Raffaldini Vineyards, Mt. Airy farmer’s market (Tuesdays), and Elkin Farmer’s Market (Saturdays).  You can see the full list on their website.

You can learn more about Blue Ridge Bread Company via these links.  Give them a try, their products are truly delicious!

Website:  http://blueridgebreadco.com/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BlueRidgeBreadCo
Contact Info:  http://blueridgebreadco.com/contact-us/
Crowd Funding Campaign to help expand their small business:  https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/we-knead-your-dough

*This post contains my 100% unbiased, unsolicited opinion.  These are not affiliate links, just my own wish to support a business whose products I thoroughly enjoy.  You can via our disclosure policy here.*

Leave a Comment

