Sewing Inspiration: Valentine’s Skirt

Sew Pretty Valentine SkirtI love a fun cotton print.  Pair that with a piece of clothing that is versatile and I’m sold.  I originally made this skirt last spring as a flowy skirt with an elastic waist band.  It wasn’t very fitted and was one of my first forays into sewing clothing for myself instead of children.  It was cute, but it rarely got worn  because it just wasn’t the most flattering thing in my closet.  The last couple of months I’ve taken an interest in altering and fitting clothing.  I had a closet full of items that were too big and slowly but surely I started working my way through them all.  With Valentine’s Day around the corner, this skirt kept calling to me.  I pulled it out, put it on Amelia (my dress form) and got to work.

First I took in a bit on each side and added a zipper.  Then I started draping and pinning.  I tried a few configurations but ended up with the finished skirt you see here.  It was really fun to take this skirt from shapeless to a fitted, fun piece of clothing that will get a lot of rotation in my wardrobe.  The little details like the peek-a-boo blue invisible zipper and the adorable blue heart snap made it all the more fun.  And, I think this print is perfect for Valentine’s Day, don’t you?

Love is in the details

Adorable Cotton Print

Patchwork Hem

Back view

One thought on “Sewing Inspiration: Valentine’s Skirt

Leave a Comment

